Mathematics Teacher Education and Development (MTED)

About MTED :: Submitting manuscripts :: Review process :: Publication agreement :: Editor(s) :: Editorial Board

Index 1999

To find information about MTED, recent articles, submitting manuscripts, editors and editorial board please go to the MTED page on the MERGA OJS website:

To submit a manuscript or register as a reviewer you need to first register on the site to create a password-protected log in and fill out the online form. The log in and register buttons are along the top of the screen immediately under the green journal title band.

To access published articles you do not need a log in.  


  1. The MTED Open Journal System (MTED OJS) is now the new portal for MTED journal. Please access MTED OJS for more details. 
  2. Authors please register in the MTED OJS to submit your manuscript.

Call for Manuscripts:

Manuscripts are invited for submission at any time. Please submit your manuscript about mathematics teacher education to the OJS system as above.

About MTED

The Mathematics Teacher Education and Development Journal (MTED), an official journal of the Mathematics Education Research Group of Australasia, Inc. (MERGA), is an international refereed journal which provides a stimulating collection of articles with a focus on mathematics teacher education in the broader sense. MTED is now (from 2014) an on-line journal, with articles being published on-line first and then grouped into on-line issues and indexed above.

Submission of high quality papers in any area of mathematics teacher education and development is invited. Topics should normally be of general interest to an international readership, but papers exploring specifically Australasian issues are also welcomed. Quite a diversity of articles will be included: research reports; papers addressing general issues and perspectives; “successful pathways” – reports of exemplary practices that have a strong theoretical basis or have been evaluated effectively; discussion on recent and potential policy decisions and curriculum developments; evaluations of programs, materials, particular practices, relevant research methods (e.g., teacher-as-researcher); summaries of what research says about specific mathematics education professional development themes; philosophical debates; “think" pieces where new ideas are presented; reviews of relevant books and software. The journal's purpose is to promote the sharing of ideas as well as research findings.

Preparing and submitting manuscripts

Manuscripts should conform to the style guidelines specified in Chapters 1-3 of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, with minor modifications for Australasian usage as illustrated in the journal (see Manuscripts should be prepared in the approximate format used by this Journal, with tables and figures incorporated into the text and italics (not underlining) used when appropriate.

All submissions should be in MSWord. A template is provided for use in all submissions.

Papers are not to exceed 14 A4 pages or 9000 words (excluding references).

The review process will be double blind. Authors should submit a blind version of the manuscript. In particular, all direct and indirect references to the author(s) should be scrupulously eliminated. All cited works by one or more of the authors should be referred to as Author followed by the date of publication, and these works omitted from the reference list but included on a separate sheet. Authors' names, affiliations and addresses should be included in a covering letter or message.

Authors should also certify in their covering email that the manuscript has not been submitted for review by any other journal. Only papers that differ substantially from previously published work should be submitted.

Manuscripts should be submitted in the MTED Open Journal System (OJS). Authors and Reviewers can register themselves in the MTED OJS to submit or review manuscripts.

Books for review, or completed book reviews, should be sent to the Reviews Editor.

Review process

MTED uses a double-blind (author blind, reviewer blind) review process. The manuscript is reviewed blind by one of the Editorial Board members and two other referees. Working from the referees’ reports the editors then jointly decide on a publication outcome. They may require the authors of accepted papers to make specific revisions, and they may suggest to authors of rejected papers general revisions that might make them publishable. All authors receive copies of the referees’ reports. 

Publication agreement

A publication agreement must by completed and submitted when your manuscript has been accepted for publication.

Editorial Team (2016- )

Robin Averill, Victoria University, email:   

Fiona Ell, University of Auckland, email:
Jodie Hunter, Massey University, email:

Reviews editor: MTED

           Dr Wee Tiong Seah

Melbourne Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne

Editorial Board

Judy Anderson, University of Sydney

Tonya Bartell, Michigan State University, USA

Sandra Frid, Curtin University

Keiko Hino, Utsuoniya University, Japan

Berinderjeet Kaur, National Institute of Education, Singapore

Elham Kazemi, University of Washington

Pi-Jen Lin, National Hinschu University of Education, Taiwan

Elena Nardi, University of East Anglia, Unite Kingdom

Kathleen Nolan, University of Regina, Canada

Bob Perry, Charles Sturt University

Hilary Povey, Sheffield-Helham University, United Kingdom

Sandy Schuck, University of Technology, Sydney

Colleen Vale, Deakin University

Jennifer Way, University of Sydney


Previous Editors

2013 - 2015 Colleen Vale, Gaye Williams & Leicha Bragg

2010-2012 Jennifer Way, Janette Bobis & Judy Anderson
2005-2009 Sandra Frid, Len Sparrow & Merrilyn Goos
2002-2004 Ian Putt, Elizabeth Warren & Tim Herrington
2001 Peter Sullivan & Elizabeth Warren
2000 Ian Putt, Gloria Stillman & Elizabeth Warren
1999 Mary Klein, Ian Putt & Gloria Stillman

Editors of Special Issues

2013: Japanese Lesson Study: A model for whole-school teacher professional learning
Susie Groves (Deakin University) & Brian Doig (Deakin University)

2012 Rosemary Callingham, Helen Chick & Steve Thornton
2011 Joanna Higgins & Linda Bonne
2010 Janeen Lamb, Michael Gaffney & Gayle Spry
2007 Bob Perry & Carmel Deizman